Converting geoJson to shapefile

07-24-2014 04:35 PM
JoshuaWiebe
New Contributor II

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to ArcGIS, and even newer to Python, or Java. I'm trying to convert a geojson file to a more usable format (.shp, .lyr; anything ArcMap can read), but I have absolutely no idea how to do it.

I have found an incredible file that I'm using for a university project, and I'd love to use it - can someone help me? The file is titled "pipelineroute.geojson" and it's located here -> geodatabc/NorthernGatewayPipeline · GitHub

Using (or attempting to use) Ogre (Ogre - ogr2ogr web client‌) has made my head spin........

Is there anyone who can helpp me convert (or convert the file for me?) Thank you so much in advance

Tags (2)
16 Replies
ChristopherBrown4
New Contributor III

Hi There,

I will write this assuming you have access to ArcGIS for Desktop. In the Toolbox inside of ArcMap or ArcCatalog there is a tool specifically for this purpose called "JSON to features", it is found in the conversion toolbox.

More information can be found here ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

Have a great day,

CDB

JoshuaWiebe
New Contributor II

Thank you so much; unfortunately, this didn't work. I changed the filetype from geojson to json in the properties of the file (converting the original geojson gave an error.) I used both arccatalog and arcmap to convert the altered JSONto features - I got error 001558 - error parsing json file.

0 Kudos
ChristopherBrown4
New Contributor III