CAD to GDB tool, outputs exist in different spatial extent

Jump to solution
02-09-2012 07:11 AM
WarrenDavison
Occasional Contributor
Hi,

I'm trying to use the 'Import from CAD, to Geodatabase' tool from the Conversion Toolbox. I've encountered issues where the results of this tool are not where they should be (on top of the input CAD drawing).

In ArcMap I have georeferenced the input CAD dataset and saved the updated world file as specified in the Desktop Help.http://webhelp.esri.com/arcgisdesktop/9.3/index.cfm?TopicName=Transforming_CAD_datasets

Although after completing these steps and defining the coordinate system and projection and attempting to execute the tool again the results continue to appear at the wrong coordinates. This result is inconsistent as other CAD datasets I have converted with this tool appear in the correct output extent, leading me to believe there is some variance with the CAD data. I am no CAD expert, but I thought this inconsistency, in spatial reference and coordinates, would have been rectified through georeferencing in ArcMap.

Is there something I am overlooking in the original CAD dataset spatial information that could be causing this problem?

Thanks in advance,

Warren
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WarrenDavison
Occasional Contributor
This issue has been resolved,

After investigating, the 'Import to GDB from CAD' tool reads the spatial references from the source CAD dataset and does not take note of the peripheral files created during the georeferencing session within ArcMap (.world, .prj, etc...).

I have yet to find a work-around to this.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
WarrenDavison
Occasional Contributor
This issue has been resolved,

After investigating, the 'Import to GDB from CAD' tool reads the spatial references from the source CAD dataset and does not take note of the peripheral files created during the georeferencing session within ArcMap (.world, .prj, etc...).