Attribute Assistant expression is doing unwanted rounding of Double field inputs

08-28-2014 07:52 PM
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor

I am new to Attribute Assistance and trying to write a concatenation expression that uses 5 double fields to create a formatted string.  I manged to get the expression to work just the way I want in exactly 254 characters in the Field Calculator so that I could paste it into the DynamicValues table.  The concatenated numbers are each supposed to display 4 digits after the decimal, and do when I use the Field Calculator, but the Attribute Assistant Expression record is automatically rounding the field values to 2 digits before doing the concatenation.  I tried an expression that just calculates one of the double field values into the string field and it is automatically being rounded to 2 digits.  It does this no matter what vbScript string formatting functions I have tried.

Is there any setting in ArcMap or Windows that would stop this number rounding or change it to 4 digits of rounding?  I tried changing the Windows regional setting in Control Panel to display 4 digits by default and closed and reopened Desktop, but Attribute Assistant still is rounding all double field values to 2 decimal places.  Shouldn't I be able to determine the precision I want through some setting somewhere?  Any other ideas? 

I am not sure if this behavior is limited to conversions of double values to string values, but I suspect this rounding would also occur with numeric calculation expressions that output to a double field.  If it did, that would be a definite bug in my view.  Is this a known bug?  Thanks for the help.

6 Replies
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor