ArcSDE User(s) Auditing in Oracle

Jump to solution
05-02-2012 05:46 AM
MoizIshfaq
New Contributor II
Greetings all,
I have searched the subject matter through forums but could not get useful material on it. I am trying to audit a user activity in oracle database which performs various operations in ArcSDE e.g., recalculating spatial index for a feature dataset or an individual feature class.

I can not use Oracle Fine Grained Auditing (FGA) as it works on individual user objects. Please bear with me as I am new to oracle auditing stuff. When I implement user auditing through the 'audit alter table, select table, insert table, update table, delete table, grant table, grant procedure, execute procedure by USERNAME;' statement I can see the user selection and editing stuff on feature class but it is not showing 'rebuilding of spatial index' for feature dataset. I think there should be a statement for auditing oracle packages or other procedures execution which I need to include with this statement and don't have any idea about it. So, please share your thought or any clue on what I might be missing in this regard.

Thanks for your time and support in advance.
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
anthonysanchez
New Contributor III
Hi Mohammad,
I've been out of the ArcSDE game for a year but miss it dearly and therefore lurk in these forums. 🙂

I've got some ideas that may get you started down the right path but hopefully some of the brilliant folks that participate in these forums can chime in and get you what you need.

ArcSDE will only allow the owner of a feature class to recalculate the spatial index so you won't really know who did it if many people have the schema owner password.

As for when, this is an interesting challenge. What is your geometry type? sdelob, st_geometry, or SDO?