ArcSDE Java Client - Different geometries with different Service Pack versions

07-13-2011 04:38 AM
NormanMann
New Contributor
Hi,

I am new to the Spatial world, and even newer to the ArcGIS/ESRI world.

I am having an issue with reading geometries back from an Arc database (Oracle, using the LONG RAW column for geometries).

Basically, the software I have written very coarsley, goes through a layer and for each row, gets an identifier and the geometry. This seems to work fine in most cases. This is using service pack 3 of the jsde92_sdk and jpe92_sdk jars.

However a small amount (approx 10%) of the geometry come back incorrectly. In addition, the extent from the shape is similarily incorrect. I can see in the "f" tables, what the extent should be.

Upgrading to service pack 6 (anything later then service pack 3 seems to show this behaviour), the results are the opposite. ie the correct results are incorrect, and the incorrect ones are correct.

For example.

Using Service Pack 3  :

GEOMETRY 1        -5147258.777231589, -1.5492365164206002E7
GEOMETRY 2         527566.067680127, 195430.87323492393

Using Service Pack 6 :

GEOMETRY 1       385129.7801152915, 256278.68402232602
GEOMETRY 2        4.578372853940902E7, 1.2575864698354974E8

All stored as British National Grid. It seems to be that the way the LONG_RAW column is read has changed between these service packs? I am of the understanding the ArcMAP can read the data in a consistent , correct fashion.

Can someone shed some light on how I could get consistent results using 1 service pack?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks
0 Kudos
20 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
ArcSDE clients don't read geometries from databases -- they read geometries from ArcSDE servers.

What version of ArcSDE is installed in the database?

What version of ArcSDE is installed in the server?

Your client API should always be equal to or greater than the server.