ArcGIS10:Add Spatial Database Connection to MS SQL Server 2008 Management Studio.How?

04-27-2012 10:09 AM
ScottChang
New Contributor II
Hi all,

I am new in doing ArcGIS10: Add Spatial Database Connection to Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Management Studio (aka SQL Server 2008 Express).  I did not see any technical documents or tutorials on  doing ArcGIS10: Add Spatial Database Connection to Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Management Studio (aka SQL Server 2008 Express).  Could the experts of Geodatabase & ArcSDE please kindly give me/new users of ArcGIS10: Add Spatial Database Connection to Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Management Studio (aka SQL Server 2008 Express) some instructions/steps or technical sources for doing this kind of projects?

Thanks,
Scott Chang

P. S.  I have tried to do it. But I did not go too far - see the attached file. My SQL Server 2008 Express and ArcGIS 10 are installed in our Microsoft NT4 LAN System.  I do not know what User Name and Password to connect my SQL Server 2008 Express and ArcGIS 10.
0 Kudos
17 Replies
DeminHu
New Contributor
For an ArcSDE geodatabase , you want to make a spatial connection, probably you need to use ArcObject  commands, tools or applications,

You can connect to ArcSDE geodatabase with ODBC, JDBC, OLE DB etc. But  you will not view  as spatial data,  you will view them as database  tables.
0 Kudos
KimPeter
Esri Contributor
Hi,

You don't connect to Management Studio from the Spatial Database Connection; you connect to a geodatabase in one SQL Server database.