Bring DBTUNE Template File Back

05-02-2020 06:31 PM
Labels (1)
MarceloMarques
Esri Regular Contributor

I am a database administrator responsible to setup enterprise geodatabases that store very large datasets (terabytes), the best practice is to separate tables and indexes to improve performance, this reduces database datafiles fragmentation and contention, thus database i/o improves which leads to better performance, also improves maintenance tasks such as sde compress (versioning), rebuilding indexes and gather new statistics. In order to accomplish this I use a custom DBTUNE file.

1) DBTUNE documentation

If you look the 10.2.2 documentation for PostgreSQL it has an example on how to configure a custom dbtune keyword.

B_STORAGE              "TABLESPACE userdata" 
B_INDEX_ROWID          "WITH (FILLFACTOR = 60)TABLESPACE userdata" 
B_INDEX_USER          "WITH (FILLFACTOR = 75)TABLESPACE userdata" 
BLK_STORAGE                "TABLESPACE rasterdata" 
BLK_INDEX_COMPOSITE        "WITH (FILLFACTOR = 90)USING INDEX TABLESPACE" 
A_INDEX_RASTER             "WITH (FILLFACTOR = 75) TABLESPACE rasterdata" 
B_INDEX_RASTER             "WITH (FILLFACTOR = 75) TABLESPACE rasterdata" 
BND_STORAGE                "TABLESPACE rasterdata" 
BND_INDEX_COMPOSITE        "WITH (FILLFACTOR = 90)USING INDEX TABLESPACE" 
RAS_STORAGE            "TABLESPACE rasterdata" 
RAS_INDEX_ID           "WITH (FILLFACTOR = 90)USING INDEX TABLESPACE rasterdata"

Notice that for some keywords we have to use the " USING INDEX" syntax spite of the keyword name to have the word "INDEX", this because the dbtune keyword is used to create a table and an index as well.

10.2.2 was the last release of the ArcSDE Binaries Installer.

2) DBTUNE template file

After the "ArcSDE_for_PostgreSQL_on_Windows_1022_140610.exe" was installed we had a full dbtune template that we could use to fill up with the tablespaces name .

3) Remarks