Creating a Time Series Web Application

04-07-2020 12:23 PM
Labels (1)

Creating a Time Series Web Application

Hi all!

My name is Benjamin Mittler and I am a GIS Manager working in the University of South Florida Libraries - Digital Heritage and Humanities Collections. Last week I was asked by Canserina Kurnia‌  to create a blog post describing the process I used to create my Florida COVID-19 Time Series Application (which is also found on my Florida COVID-19 Hub). Below is the process I used, I hope some of you find it useful. Let me know if it seems like I left something out.

Creating a Time-Series Map of the COVID-19 Outbreak

I’m going start off this blog with the bad news, this isn’t going to be as easy as plugging Johns Hopkins or your state health department data into an application and pressing go. As you may have noticed by now, most COVID-19 feature services are providing data on current metrics and not including any archival information. This makes creating a time-series a lot more difficult, but still possible. Below are the steps I took in creating my time-series application.

Formatting Spreadsheet

Even though State health departments aren’t publishing archival data as a feature service, they are likely still publishing daily reports. If you are lucky these reports will be in spreadsheet format. I started out by creating a brand new excel spreadsheet with 3 columns; “Date”, “County”, and “Count” (count field represents total cases up to the listed date). I then went through each archival report, day by day, and copy/pasted information into my spreadsheet so that it looked like the below. You only need to include a county in the spreadsheet once it has its first case, no reason to include them if the case count is 0. Notice how for 3/1/2020 only Hillsborough and Manatee are listed, they are the only 2 counties with a case. Once a county appears in the spreadsheet it must appear for all subsequent days.

Excel to table