Vertical Datum Transformations: CGVD13 to WGS84

Jump to solution
02-09-2021 07:39 PM
Schillz
New Contributor II

Hello,

I'm wondering if it is necessary to apply a transformation from CGVD13 to WGS84? I have a large dataset of hydrographic soundings obtained with GCS WGS84 and a reference water surface elevation (WSE) obtained with CGVD13. I need to subtract the WSE from all depth soundings to get a true bed surface elevation. I can't find any references online that provide a simple or straightforward answer. 

From what I gather here, Height Reference System Modernization (nrcan.gc.ca), CGVD13 uses the CGG2013a realization which is 'synonymous' (?) with NAD83(CSRS)/ITRF2008 realizations. Then from other sources, WGS84 is 'synonymous' with ITRF2008. So does that make the CGVD13 and WGS84 ellipsoid near equal?

I'm relatively new to this topic and have found it quite a struggle to wrap my head around these seemingly endless transformations and coordinate systems...

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BojanŠavrič
Esri Contributor

Thank you, @Schillz, for your question and @Pål_Herman_Sund for your assistance. 

First, the theory...

As @Pål_Herman_Sund already said, "WGS 1984 and the CGVD 2013 are two very different things." CGVD 2013 (WKID::6647) is gravity-related vertical coordinate system (datum). WGS 1984 is geographic coordinate system (WKID::4326) and vertical coordinate system (WKID::115700) with positions and ellipsoidal heights, which you natively get from GPS observations. The first realization of CGVD 2013 is through Canadian Gravimetric Geoid model of 2013 – Version A (CGG2013a) in NAD83(CSRS) and ITRF2008. This basically means that geoid undulations (difference between ellipsoidal heights and orthometric heights) are provided between NAD 1983 (CSRS) or ITRF 2008 ellipsoidal heights and CGVD 2013 orthometric heights based on positions in NAD 1983 (CSRS) or ITRF 2008 geographic coordinates