Can ArcGIS georeference satellite images that have been scaled and rotated within a jpg image?

10-27-2014 09:14 AM
JeffHelton
New Contributor

Hi everybody,

I'm in need of a solution to a problem and am hoping to find help here. I have images (satellite view) that need to be georeferenced (with Google Spherical projection).

Currently I export a raster image from Global Mapper that uses the above mentioned projection and I export it as a jpg. It's a satellite view of a golf course. Then What I have to do is open it in Photoshop, crop the image and paste it into a new image, in doing so I have to scale down and rotate the cropped image. I do not distort it however, when I scale it I keep the ratio set so the image doesn't get warped. This is where I need help. I need to georeference this new image. How can I do this? Can I do it with ArcGIS? If so, I would be a total newb to that software, how would I do it. And if it can't be done in ArcGIS, does anybody know any other methods or a service that can do these images for me?

Thanks so much for your help.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
DuncanHornby
MVP Notable Contributor

There is a whole section within the ArcMap desktop help that discusses geo-referencing and the available tools, this would be your starting point.

0 Kudos
JeffHelton
New Contributor

Excellent. It does appear this is possible for what I need.

However, I have another question. Do you know where I can find a person or company that knows how to do this process, that can provide this service to me? My company is looking to outsource this work process to somebody. I'll probably need around 600 images georeferenced every month.

Thanks Duncan.

0 Kudos
DuncanHornby
MVP Notable Contributor