How to tackle the topic of 'Direction of Flow'

01-25-2022 08:21 AM
Labels (3)
Nicholas_R_Burns
New Contributor

Hello Everyone, 

I am reaching out to this community in hopes of learning about any tips or tricks others have used to delineate a 'direction of flow' in some of their utility networks. This could apply to Electrical Distribution, Domestic Water Systems, Chilled Water Systems, Pressurized Steam Systems, etc.

I am new to utility mapping but my goal is to gain some helpful information from some of the more experienced utility experts out there. Our utility assets were recently converted to GIS from a CAD based solution but they still lack a lot of the functionality or supporting attribution that will allow the data to thrive in the GIS environment. At this time, we simply have the line work and points digitized to resemble the previous CAD plans as close as possible. All the data is currently structured in a file geodatabase broken up into datasets for each utility asset. For the issue of flow direction, I used a separate feature class to drop arrows on top of the linework to signify 'direction of flow'. I am aware that this method is tedious and will not allow for future 'upstream/downstream' capabilities when further developing the networks. This is something that I think could eventually add significant value to the data and therefore would like to figure out the best course of action to build this out.

The two main methods I have read about for achieving this are setting 'sinks and sources' or using 'digitized direction of edges'. 

If anyone has experience with these methods and could share some insight, it would be greatly appreciated. Does one method work better than the other? Is one easier to manage down the line? (no pun intended). If I already have the system digitized without consideration of the direction it was drawn in, is there an easy way to set the direction of a line afterwards without having to redraw every line?