Script Subtracting Fields to Populate Another Field in ArcPad 10

02-22-2011 07:16 AM
jeffclonts
New Contributor
Hello, I am new to ArcPad/Studio. I am running ArcPad 10 and I am looking to do the following. I have customized a form that our field crews will deploy to collect groundwater monitoring information. In an effort to minimize user input I wanted to come up with a script that would auto populate a field based on the input of another field. An example is as follows:

The crew member would enter a value into the field "GW Depth". The next field on the form is "Well Depth". This field is read only and already has a value associated with it. The next field on the form is "Water Column Thickness". "Water Column Thickness" is derived by subtracting "Groundwater Depth" from "Well Depth". I would like this field to auto populate once the crew member enters a value for "Groundwater Depth". I searched through ArcPad discussion forums and found a few scripts that may be what I am looking for. Below is my first stab at it:

Sub SumFunction
Dim objEditForm
Set objEditForm = Application.Forms("EDITFORM").Pages("GWPage1").Controls("WaterColumnThickness")

objEditForm("WaterColumnThickness") = objEditForm("GWDepth").Value - objEditForm("WellDepth").Value
End Sub

From what I understand I open up <SCRIPT> in ArcPad Studio and enter the code above (no idea if it is even close to being correct). I would then go into the Events tab for the Water Column Thickness field and create an event under "onchange" that states: Call SumFunction.

Once saved, I open the form in ArcPad and enter a value for GW depth. The Water Column Thickness field does not populate. Again, I am very new at Scripting/ArcPad, so any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

JC
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
jeffclonts
New Contributor
After staring at it long enough I have solved my issue. The code that worked is attached.

Set objControl = ThisEvent.Object