Newbie: Trying to populate one field based on choice in another field

03-25-2013 08:59 AM
MichaelBishopp
Occasional Contributor
I am new to ArcPad and new to VBS, so this might be a bit more than I can chew, but here goes:

I have a rather long table that has a code field (sign type) and a description field (sign description).  I want my ArcPad users to be able to choose from the Description field and have the code field automatically fill in based on that choice.

I'm assuming that I need to create some sort of a domain table (maybe a .dbf table??) that can be linked to the Description field.  From this table the coded value (sign type) would be known, so that it could be automatically populated into the "sign type" field.

Can anyone help direct me on how to go about this?

Michael:confused:
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
KariBuckvold
Occasional Contributor
Did you figure this out? I'm looking to do something similar.
0 Kudos
MichaelBishopp
Occasional Contributor
Did you figure this out? I'm looking to do something similar.

I did find some code that got me started.  Here it is:

'autopopulate a field based on entry in another field
Sub AutoPop

Dim objDBF, strCode, strTest, i , strObs, pageGen
 'pageGen = Layers("SignsTest3").Forms("EDITFORM").Pages("General") 'SignsTest3 is the layer
 strObs= Layers("SignsTest3").Forms("EDITFORM").Pages("General").Controls("domDescription").value 'get value user selected in domDescription field
 Set objDBF = Application.CreateAppObject("recordset")   
 objDBF.Open "C:\Users\mbishopp\Documents\SignsTestData1\dbase\Example.dbf", 1  'open the external DBF table <--this should probably be placed somewhere else, like with the apl or axf, but I was just experimenting at the time.

objDBF.MoveFirst 
 For i=0 to objDBF.RecordCount-1   'loop through DBF list until end of list 

If strObs=objDBF.Fields("Descriptio").Value then 'compare selected obs value form with 1st CODE value from table