How to set FixedAspectRatio to False for Legend

06-25-2014 08:50 AM
TimWhiteaker
Occasional Contributor II
I'm creating a legend. I want to set IBoundsProperties.FixedAspectRatio to False. When I run the code, I get "The method or operation is not implemented."

Code snippet (C#):
ILegend2 legend = mapSurroundFrame.MapSurround as ILegend2;
IBoundsProperties bounds = legend as IBoundsProperties;
bounds.FixedAspectRatio = false;

I get the same error if I cast to IBoundsProperties from the mapSurroundFrame object instead of the legend object.
0 Kudos
17 Replies
RobertMaddox
New Contributor III
CoClasses "implement" the behavior defined by the Interface. 
Interfaces only define a contract, there is nothing between the curly braces, i.e. no implementation.

:rolleyes:

I am not going to get into some silly academic debate about the word "implement". I am a programmer by trade, not a GIS person, so I understand completely how interfaces work and don't need the idiots guide link to MSDN, Thank you very much. The point was that there was a property on the interface which means that the property must exist on any class that implements the interface. Whether there's anything "between the curly braces" in the source code or not is completely irrelevant because for all we know, they could be auto-properties. (Here's a link to MSDN for you: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb384054.aspx)