get field value

11-09-2013 07:36 AM
NestorasPapadopoulos
New Contributor
Hallo everyone,
I am trying to make a tool in arcobjects using VStudio 2010 and VB (.net, framework 3.5). I want to select a particular shapefile, then select the first record of it (FID=0) and then assign the value of a particular field to variable. After that with a for loop I will take the values of that field for all the rows.
I have made functions for all the actions (select layer by name, select row, select field by name) but it doesn't work. I get silly warnings and correction, but I am new to arcobjects and I can't handle it.
Any help is welcomed
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JohnStephens
Occasional Contributor
Hallo everyone,
I am trying to make a tool in arcobjects using VStudio 2010 and VB (.net, framework 3.5). I want to select a particular shapefile, then select the first record of it (FID=0) and then assign the value of a particular field to variable. After that with a for loop I will take the values of that field for all the rows.
I have made functions for all the actions (select layer by name, select row, select field by name) but it doesn't work. I get silly warnings and correction, but I am new to arcobjects and I can't handle it.
Any help is welcomed

You're going to need to post some code or show us the warning for us to help.
0 Kudos
NestorasPapadopoulos
New Contributor
Hallo,
thanks for replying to my thread. The code I' ve written since now is below. trig_srtm30 is a point shapefile and poly_C1toend is a polygon shapefile. I want to select each point, get the coordinates of each point and then pove the whole polygon shapefile according to the coordinates I get. Thank you very much.

Imports ESRI.ArcGIS.esriSystem
Imports ESRI.ArcGIS.Geometry
Imports ESRI.ArcGIS.Geodatabase
Imports ESRI.ArcGIS.Carto
Public Class Tool1
  Inherits ESRI.ArcGIS.Desktop.AddIns.Tool

#Region "Select Map Features by Attribute Query"