Plotting photos - co-ordinate system mismatch

Jump to solution
05-05-2023 02:07 AM
Labels (1)
StephenPsallidas
New Contributor II

Hi, I'm fairly new to ArcGIS. I have a workspace which includes a background mapping layer which uses British National Grid (OSGB36), it all works fine. However, when I use the 'Geotagged Photos to Points' tool, when the photos appear on the map they are all displaced around 100m to the west of the actual locations they were shot! (See attachment)

I assumed it was something to do with the projection, as the layer appears to be created using WGS84. I re-created the photos layer, but in the 'Geotagged Photos to points' tool I clicked the 'Environments' button, then 'Cartography' and selected the same projection as the base layer (it showed correctly as 'British National Grid'). However when I proceeded to create the layer, the photo points are still displaced! And the projeciton for the photos layer still shows WGS84...

No matter which options I choose, the photos all end in the same displaced positions! 

How do I correctly change the projection for the photos layer to be British National Grid/OSGB36 ?

Thanks very much.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

What you're likely seeing is an inaccurate transformation.  What version of ArcMap are you using?

Go to the data frame properties and click on the 'Transformations' button as per https://digimap.edina.ac.uk/help/gis/transformations/transform_arcgis/ or when you first get the coordinate system warning popup on adding in the WGS84 data - select the correct transformation of OSGB1936_TO_WGS84_7. Depending on your arcmap version you may have to download the _7 transformation separately.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

What you're likely seeing is an inaccurate transformation.  What version of ArcMap are you using?