Creating a shovel test grid for Cultural Resource Management

08-05-2017 09:39 AM
Labels (1)
EricMai
New Contributor II

I can't find a good amount of information on creating a grid within a set boundary and using the intersection points as points for data.  I work in the archaeology field and we dig shovel tests on a 50 foot grid.  I am trying to figure out a way of creating a grid before entering the field, where each intersection point already has a distinct GPS point, and data can be entered via a database app in reference to each one of these points.  Can anyone help me through this process?

I understand the fishnet tool, but not sure how to use the intersections and create points for each, and additional attributes to be filled in later.  And how could I label each point based off of that grid system of x, y?  For example, transect 1, shovel test 1.  

0 Kudos
26 Replies
BrianWilson
Occasional Contributor II

I am not an archeologist, help me out here, when you say 50' grid I am assuming that's a polygon and you subdivide it into small squares? Or that's the size of one square in a big grid?

When you say you have GPS points, what do they look like? That is, GPS data wanders around, do you mean you have decimeter or better accuracy for a grid of points?

Writing a bit of code to generate a grid is the easy part for me. 🙂 Knowing what you want is the hard part.

If you have a picture or reference to a web site that would teach me more please post it and I will help you.

0 Kudos
EricMai
New Contributor II

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9EAL0oxgEMwXzdFN3h4c1I0azA

I attached a link to a sketch of what I'm looking to do.  Project areas are often not perfect rectangular grids so sometimes the grid is somewhat amorphous.  An X axis is the Transect # (1,2,3,4...) and the Y axis is Shovel Test # (1,2,3,4...).  From one 1,2 to 1,1, the distance is 50 feet, so yes, one block is 50' square.