Workforce - Creating Assignments from existing Feature Layer

09-15-2020 08:31 AM
SarahHollier
New Contributor III

Hi,

I am brand new to workforce and have been asked to set one up for assigning jobs for the installation of christmas lights across our region. I have a feature layer with 435 existing locations which I would like to add in as individual assignments, ideally 3 for each location (installation, safety check and photograph) as these tasks may not be done at the same time/by same user so i think they need to be separate assignments.

Is there a way to load in an existing feature layer to the assignments so I don't need to create each one manually? It would be useful to load in the details from the feature layer as well so I don't need to provide field crews with additional details, eg light type, mounting method, power source etc. It would be a one off exercise so I got a little lost reading up about automation of tasks.

Thanks and I hope that makes sense,

Sarah

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MehdiPira1
Esri Contributor

Hi Sarah Hollier‌,

Yes, there is.

You can achieve this using ArcGIS API for Python, refer to the following links which show how to create assignments based on an existing feature layer with examples:

https://community.esri.com/groups/workforce-for-arcgis/blog/2020/03/10/automate-workforce-with-the-a... 

Automate Workforce with ArcGIS API for Python 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Please mark as helpful if you find it helpful. If it answered your question please mark it as answered.

SarahHollier
New Contributor III

Thank you for your reply, I had hoped there was a way without going down the Python API route as that is a bit beyond my skill level, my python skills are very basic and I got extremely confused with the help documentation on this as it is certainly targeted at someone with a greater knowledge of Python than I have.