Creating/Configuring Utility Network in a File Geodatabase

11-30-2021 11:55 AM
Suedietrich
New Contributor III

Hi all,

I am new to Utility Network and trying to figure out if it is possible to apply an asset package to the utility network that is created by the staging utility network geoprocessing tool. I do NOT have an enterprise account so what would be the best way to create a water distribution network in a file geodatabase?

Thank you in advance,

10 Replies
ccremons
New Contributor

Hello,

I can definitely help! The Esri Solutions team has created a Python tool called 'Asset Package to Geodatabase', more information can be found here:

https://solutions.arcgis.com/utilities/help/utility-network-automation/tool-reference/asset-package-...

Please note that this tool is only able to work on 'Standard' and 'Advanced' versions of ArcGIS Pro. This tool should meet your needs if you have an existing asset package populated with data that you wish to populate into a file geodatabase. 

If you do not already have an existing asset package, here are the steps to follow to create the components of a UN:

If you wish to create an empty utility network(UN) schema in a file geodatabase for modeling water utilities, please follow the below steps: 

1. Begin by creating a file geodatabase somewhere on the machine using the 'Catalog' pane in ArcGIS Pro. This can be done by right clicking in a folder, selecting 'New', and then selecting 'File Geodatabase'.

2. Once the file geodatabase is generated, now it is time to create the UN, structure network, and domain network. 

3. Create a feature dataset inside the newly generated file geodatabase by right clicking on the geodatabase, selecting 'New', and selecting 'Feature Dataset'. Provide the feature dataset with a name and select 'Run'. The feature dataset will be created.