Select to view content in your preferred language

What coordinate system should I use if I am mapping all of North America?

Jump to solution
04-25-2022 11:13 AM
CarlyConticchio1
New Contributor II

Forgive me if I am posting this to the wrong place, as I am new to this community and I am a GIS noob. 

I am mapping species presence across North America (monarch butterflies). I am at a loss for what coordinate system I should use for this. Google gave me several conflicting answers. I was thinking web mercator but I don't want to do the whole analysis just for it to be wrong. Please advise!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

It probably depends on your analysis, but generally, web mercator is a bad idea for analysis, given how much distortion it introduces.

As a fun aside, checkout Mercator: EXTREME. It lets you place the north pole somewhere else, and see what a web mercator projection might look like based on that new pole.

jcarlson_0-1650912011229.png

You'd probably be okay going with something like an Albers projection. It's what the USGS uses, if that sways your opinion.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

It probably depends on your analysis, but generally, web mercator is a bad idea for analysis, given how much distortion it introduces.

As a fun aside, checkout Mercator: EXTREME. It lets you place the north pole somewhere else, and see what a web mercator projection might look like based on that new pole.

jcarlson_0-1650912011229.png

You'd probably be okay going with something like an Albers projection. It's what the USGS uses, if that sways your opinion.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS
0 Kudos
CarlyConticchio1
New Contributor II

Thank you! That was the other option I was thinking. Now the points themselves on the map, they should also be in Albers? Or should just my map frame and North America polygon?

0 Kudos
jcarlson