Survey123 and related tables

02-18-2021 01:16 AM
LouiseHarris1
New Contributor III

I am trying to work out the correct workflow and how to achieve it for a new mobile GIS project. Currently the users collate the information in a paper form out on site and this is then scanned and saved. I have created a form in Survey123 but I need to enable the users to see a history of inspections and collect new points for these inspections to relate to. There is no existing feature class containing points for the locations of the inspections as this has never been created before. So basically this is starting from scratch and I believe I need to use related tables but just don't understand how to do this.

Any help would be much appreciated

Louise

0 Kudos
14 Replies
BertKraan1
Occasional Contributor III

If you create a survey with a repeat  section upon publishing the software will create related features for you.

I'm new to this as well and it can be a steep learning curve but there are quite some good training resources, have you seen these:?  https://survey123.arcgis.com/videos/

you may also search for 'advanced xlsform techniques' a 74minutes video which describes -amongst others- related tables.

success!

Bert -noob-

DougBrowning
MVP Esteemed Contributor

What I do is have a "main" feature class with all the locations.  Then all my forms are related to the main.

You will have to create the initial layer, no real way around that.  Hopefully you have lat/long or something?  Same with my new company no one ever thought of it spatially.  Add GPS to your forms also and you will start to make your real locations better.  Or just have everyone find it like they used to then use these first forms as your base points.  I like each visit to be a form to get location and editor tracking.

See here for more  https://community.esri.com/t5/arcgis-survey123-questions/mapping-with-survey123-within-a-polygon-or-...

Hope that helps

Rodney_Young
New Contributor II