Selecting a point on a map to collect data about

06-03-2021 08:47 AM
wollyka
New Contributor

I am new to ArcGIS and survey123 but I have some experience working with QGIS and ODK and xlsforms.

I have a map with point features that represent buildings (each point represents a building location). I have the maps in QGIS; however, I want to export them in order to be used in survey123. (We don’t have ArcGIS at the moment but we will get it soon).

When we go into the field, we want to have an offline map which visualizes all the points that represent the buildings. I want to be able to move out in the field and navigate to these point features. I also want to be able to edit/add their characteristics in the field so the enumerator can click the point and fill a form (number of floors, types, etc.).

In addition, I want the enumerator to be able to add additional points, if necessary, in the field. For example, if there is a new building that wasn’t in the map, I want the enumerator to add a point on the map and fill the form.

Is it possible to do it in survey123? What tools do I need?
I am sorry if it is an obvious question!

2 Replies
GIS_Fox
Occasional Contributor III

Hi @wollyka ,