Integrating QR Code to Open a Survey with Pre-Loaded Data from the QR Code

03-22-2023 02:45 PM
JoeGross
New Contributor

First, pardon my ignorance as I am very new to Survey123 and GIS in general.  I began exploring a few months ago so if I have the incorrect lingo/terminology I apologize in advance or if this has been addressed already, please point me in the right direction.

Here is what I am looking to accomplish:  I would like to establish QR codes through QR code generator or similar service for all my assets, let's label them 1, 2 and 3.  When you scan the bar code, it will open my survey and populate my asset field with a 1, 2 or 3 depending on the QR code scanned.

I have created my survey in Connect already.  However, I would like my Survey to be activated utilizing a QR Code pre-loaded with data on it already.  I know that Survey123 provides a QR Code to the survey, but that link cannot be used in a QR Code generator, or at least I am doing it wrong, because the http is "incomplete". 

Additionally, I would like to know how to have the same QR Code be scanned by two different people, separately at different times.  For example, for asset 1, once the bar code is scanned, person 1 can complete delivery information part of the survey and save a draft.  Then the barcode is provided to person 2, who completes receiving information part of the survey.

Any assistance for this ignorant newbie that is trying to learn as much as possible and diving deep into this is greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
ZacharySutherby
Esri Regular Contributor

Hello @JoeGross

The first suggestion/consideration is decide if you want your QR code to link to the Survey123 web app, the Survey123 field app, or let the user decide. This is because the URL to use is slightly different for each workflow. 

From there you will need to use the field:fieldname=value URL parameter(s) to prepopulate the field in the survey.