How can I calculate area when I have multiple equations for many feature types?

03-11-2019 02:51 PM
KaitlynAbrahamson
Occasional Contributor

Hi All,

I have another formula to create, but I am new to Survey123 and am not sure how to get what I need on the survey.  The project I am working on is sign inventory and the question I am having trouble with is with the area of each sign (200 different sign types).  I will have the width and height of each of the sign, but the signs, being all different shapes, have different area formulas. 

These are all the different formulas:

(Width * Height)/144 (The majority of the signs have this equation)

(SQUARE(Height/12)) * .76

((1 + (SQRT(2))) * 2) * (SQUARE((Width / 12)/2.4))

(Height * Height /333)

(Width * Width * .0052083)

(Width)/12

(Width * Height)/182.5

(Height * Height * .0042918)

I have this for an equation (${SignWidth}*(${SignHeight})div144) for the majority of the signs, but the more advanced equations I am clueless on.  If you know how to write out some of these, that would be very helpful.  I am not even sure which survey column I should be writing these in either (calculation, relevent, etc.?)

I think I am in need of a very intense, nested if statement, but maybe it needs to be broken up in some way. I've included what my data looks like for reference.  Please help!

0 Kudos
27 Replies
Jim-Moore
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Kaitlyn

Your calculation for the majority of the signs is good, however you could drop the brackets around height, e.g. (${width} * ${height}) div 144.

You should be able to specify a different equation for each sign type with a nested if statement in the calculation column. Please see this handy information on using formulas in calculations, which lists the functions and operators you can use (including if statements): Formulas—Survey123 for ArcGIS | ArcGIS 

For example:

• (SQUARE(Height/12)) * .76 would be something like: pow((${height} div 12), 2) * 0.76