Select to view content in your preferred language

Designing the user interface of an app done with Survey123

06-04-2024 08:33 AM
LauraBoffi
New Contributor

Dear All,

my name is Laura and I am an interaction & service designer and researcher. Nice to meet you all!

My research focus is on supporting local biodiversity by engaging traditional agropastoral communities through participatory interventions, and I usually build prototypes and participatory actions to get local people interact with biodiversity, notice and reflect on it, their relationships with it and the way they value it, and co-create alternative and collaborative ideas to preserve it.  I am completely new to ArcGIS and I came across it some months ago, when I was building an app for my research purposes using a completely different platform, which is user friendly to designers (no code or low coding involved) but which has no GIS capabilities (the platform is open source and called Noodl). The app I am building is meant as a research tool for people to notice their ecological relationships with the environment and more-than-human-species around them, and reflect on these. The idea is that I will collect this information among different communities (my next fieldtrip is in Lappland, hosted by a reindeers shepherds community) and I will ideate prototypes and participatory actions for each community to support or update specific ecological relationships they described through the app.

I recently learnt that my app could be actually based on a Survey123. Using an ArcGIS tool like Survey123 would solve all my GIS related problems and it would be much faster and easier. I tried to build the app again using Survey123 and Survey123 Connect (using XLS form) and it actually was straightforward, but I lost all my UX and UI in the translation!!!

How can I get all my design as it was originally and as I want it?