Correcting Point Data from Survey123 with GNSS coordinates

06-07-2023 11:28 AM
AlmaA
by
New Contributor III

I am fairly new to Survey123. I have a series of data points that were collected during fieldwork. We also have coordinates for those same points that were collected with external GNSS equipment. 

Does anyone have any idea how I can  "fix" my Survey123 points with the more accurate GNSS coordinates?

I do plan to keep using the survey to collect more point data in the future. So I would like these corrections to be reflected within Survey123.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
ZacharySutherby
Esri Regular Contributor

Hello @AlmaA

You will need to update the features geometry with the coordinates from the external GNSS equipment. The manual way of doing this directly in Survey123 is to load the feature in the Inbox, open the feature from the Inbox, open the geopoint question, select the globe on the top left to change the Search mode and change it to Map coordinate input only, enter the coordinates that were provided from the GNSS receiver, and submit the data. 

You can also use Python for a more automated approach, please see this Esri Community post for more information on an automated workflow. I've attached a workflow that uses the ArcGIS API for Python instead of ArcPy like in the Esri Community post that will use geometry from a second layer to update the geometry in a first layer. Since each scenario will be unique you will likely need to modify the code to meet your environment. 

Thank you,
Zach
0 Kudos
AlmaA
by
New Contributor III

thanks so much for this @ZacharySutherby !  I am looking through the code and at the Esri Community post you shared.  Do the layers (original_item and fixed_item) have to be feature layers first in MyContent in ArcGIS Online?

0 Kudos
ZacharySutherby
Esri Regular Contributor

Hello @AlmaA