Select to view content in your preferred language

Transfer StoryMap to another account

Jump to solution
10-28-2023 07:55 AM
TimScott357
New Contributor

This is a topic discussed before but didn't have lasting success for me.

Last year, I created a StoryMap via a school account. Before the end of the semester, I used the transfer tool from that account to my personal (paid) account. It worked perfectly for probably a year until I graduated and my school account was wiped. I have all (or at least most) of the elements in my personal account but the StoryMap file doesn't exist and so the elements mean nothing now.

Presumably I made a mistake in the transfer and now, horrendously, I am paying the price. I now have a similar situation where I created a StoryMap on an account I have with an employer that I eventually will leave, again through a university so it will be wiped at some point in the future. I was more tidy in the transfer this time but the StoryMap file is grayed out.

Is there a way to permanently take ownership of a StoryMap? At some point down the line if I don't pay my annual fee to have a personal account with Esri, will every StoryMap I create on it disappear? If this is the case, how does this make sense? When I stop subscribing to Adobe Create Cloud, I lose the tools but not all the products I made with them.

Tim

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
OwenGeo
Esri Notable Contributor

Hi @TimScott357! Thanks for sharing your concerns about transferring stories.

We don't recommend using an ArcGIS account provided through your employer or school to create personal stories. Those accounts should only be used for work-related activities and to create work-related content.