Issue: Suitability Modeler - Issue with default transformation applied to a raster - Limited reclassification options

Jump to solution
05-14-2021 02:52 PM
Labels (1)
ScottRothberg__Ph_D_
New Contributor II

I am posting here with the goal of learning the best method to apply reclassification and edit class values and suitability values associated with rasters in Suitability Modeler. I have encountered a limitation and I need to determine if it is a workflow limitation or a limitation of the new and continuously improving Suitability Modeler interface.

---For context, I am a GIS professional with +10 years of experience and I also teach advanced GIS courses at the University of California. Historically I have taught suitability analysis using classic approaches, such as using a combination of Reclassification tools and Weighted Sum tools in Model Builder. I have started to teach Suitability Modeler and I and my students have encountered a reoccurring issue I am hopeful to resolve---

In Suitability Modeler, I understand that when a new input raster is added to the Criteria list a default transformation is applied based on the type of the input values. I further understand that this default transformation is derived from one of three methods you can use to transform the criteria (Unique Categories, Range of Classes, Continuous Functions). My issue manifests in this transformation pane.