Hi Geonet! I can't get an SRTM30 DEM to display in Arcmap properly, help?!

Jump to solution
10-20-2014 07:43 AM
PatrickDonnelly1
New Contributor

Hi there, I am a 3rd year university student doing geography. For my dissertation I am doing flood risks in Kenya, and for it I need a DEM. I found a really good one here: Index of /srtm/version2_1/SRTM30/e020n40  but whenever I try and open it in ArcMap it just says "invalid raster data set, failed to create raster"

Does anybody know a way around this? or maybe just a different DEM? I need it in as high resolution as possible for the city of Mombasa.

Thank you in advance!

Patrick.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Patrick I would use a different/better dataset then the one you are currently trying to convert.  I suggest checking USGS Earth Explorer, I found 30m dem for Mombasa there in the Digital Elevation/ASTER Global DEM.  If you make an account, it should be free to download in GeoTIFF format.  (I believe, its been a while since I used it).

Curtis Price‌, got any other suggestions?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Hi Patrick    

USGS DEM files (.dem extension) cannot be brought directly in to ArcGIS, they must be converted to another raster format first.  Try using the ArcGIS Geoprocessing tool DEM to Raster to convert to your desired file type(see help below).  The converted raster should open no problem.

ArcGIS Help 10.1

0 Kudos
PatrickDonnelly1
New Contributor

Thanks for the reply Ian. Unfortunately that hasn't worked, and its given me Error: 010067: Error in executing grid expression.

Ive heard a fix for this may be to run processes in the "foreground"? But I have no idea what that means.

Any help is much appreciated!

0 Kudos
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor