Averaging a series of rasters for the zonal statistics as raster tool

03-31-2016 05:19 PM
RuthLowry1
New Contributor

Before i begin, i have no experience in scripting and i have only created basic custom tools in ModelBuilder, so if there is a pre-existing tool or work-around for what i need, that's what i would prefer to find. Thanks.

I need to create a zonal statistics raster using a landcover shapefile and a few dozen rasters representing land surface temperature over a few months. Averaging the values by inputting several dozen rasters into raster calculator does not seem efficient. I cannot seem to find a tool which would create a single composite raster by averaging the values in multiple rasters. I know that batching can perform zonal statistics on a group of rasters, but I'm looking for a single output.

So i need either 1. a method of creating an averaged raster using all the sample datasets that i can then plug into                               the zonal stats as raster tool, or
                          2. a way of inputting many rasters into the zonal stats as raster tool to get straight to one composite                               output raster.

All help appreciated.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Cell Statistics—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop will enable you to get the averages and deal with raster related issues.  You would still have to select all your rasters unless you know how to code and your rasters are all in one location.  But at least it is a start

curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If your rasters are all in one place, it's easy enough to use a Model Builder iterator to build the list of rasters in a sub-model. Look ma, no code!

DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus