Importing Ascii (.asc) lidar data to create 3d terrain?

01-24-2016 02:28 PM
MrMurren
New Contributor

First of all, I should mention that I have no experience with height or point data at all. I have an Ascii file of lidar data that I want to create 3d terrain from. I tried to import the file into meshlab and also into a CAD program, but the results differed and were not what I expected at all. So I thought I would try ArcGis Pro. I have not been able to work out how to do it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. The .asc file is here if you'd like to take a look: ShareFile

0 Kudos
17 Replies
MrMurren
New Contributor

Hi Dan Patterson​, thanks for the reply. The results from the mesh are a long flat plane, which isn't as expected. As mentioned I have no previous experience with this, so I'm not sure where the problem is. I hope you don't mind helping here.

I offered to create a DEM for a relative, to help them visualise a plot of land for planning purposes. I have a good amount of 3d visualisation experience, so I thought I'd find this relatively straight forward. The plot itself is very steep, and the surrounding area varies quite a lot, which is why I don't understand why I've managed to get a flat plane for my resulting mesh.

The OS map reference for the plot is SX2553NE, so I downloaded SX25 open lidar data from the governments website: Survey Open Data , and used the SX2553_DTM_50cm.asc file. If it wasn't for my complete lack of experience I'd assume that the height data was just plain wrong.

0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

I think MeshLab is more for raw pointcloud data, but I could be wrong.

Dan's link to ASCII To Raster works for me:

Hillshade:

XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

To confirm the question, the images Darren posted are based on your file. You can also simply drag the file from the catalog window to the dataframe to display it without conversion: