sample project not compliing, map.h not found

03-16-2014 03:21 PM
DrewDowling
Occasional Contributor III
Hello
Using Ubuntu 12.4. I've installed the QT runtime SDK and QT creator 5.2.2, the latest ESRI QT runtime SDK for Linux and followed the installation instructions. Installation went fine and I was able to open the ESRI sample project. However when I try to compile it I get an error at the first include statement referencing am esri header file. So for example "#include map.h" gives the error "map.h not found". So how do I reference the ESRI runtime files in QT creator?

I'm new to QT and developing on a Linux environment so I'm probably missing something obvious. Any help greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
20 Replies
JeanneTrieu
Occasional Contributor
Hi Drew,

Thank you for your interest in the ArcGIS Runtime SDK for Qt.
If I understood you correctly, you followed the instructions on how to do your installation from this link:
https://developers.arcgis.com/qt/guide/how-to-build-on-linux.htm.

So you will also need to source the init file when you open a new terminal window to use ArcGIS Runtime SDK for Qt and start Qt creator from the same terminal: https://developers.arcgis.com/qt/guide/integration-with-qt-creator.htm.

Let me know if you have any question.

Thanks,
0 Kudos
DrewDowling
Occasional Contributor III
Thanks for your help Jean. Your post helped me figure it out. I didn't run QT Creator from the command line. The original project I created still gave the error but when I created a new project from the template it got passed the error. I'm assuming the correct libs were now added to the .pro file.

I did however run into another similar error at this line: #include gl/gl.h
After some research I found out that because I'm running Ubuntu as a VM the graphics drivers for OpenGL are not installed as standard. The fix was to add certain libraries. This post describes what is needed and this was the command I used