Quick Runtime Test App for Tile Packages?

11-06-2015 04:45 AM
AdamRepsher
Occasional Contributor III

Hello all,

I am producing tile packages that are being used in a vendor-created application that uses ArcGIS Runtime.  The process to place the tile package into this application is lengthy and cumbersome.  I need a way to view/test the tile package in a Runtime environment.  Is there a simple demo application built that I can use to accomplish this on a PC?  I am not a developer, but would be willing to take a couple of "gettting started" walk-through trainings if needed.  Looking for a point in the right direction.

Thank you,

--Adam

0 Kudos
5 Replies
FreddieGibson

Do you have access to Visual Studio or are you looking for a deployed application that would allow you to test this?

0 Kudos
AdamRepsher

Freddie Gibson,

If I can use the Express version - I think it is now called Visual Studio Community - Yes, I can download that and install.  Again, I have no developer experience.  I would need a walk-thru for everything.  If there is a good tutorial that utilizes the Tile Package and can just view, pan and zoom - I bet I could piece it together.

0 Kudos
FreddieGibson

I believe that there is enough information on the Esri website for you to be able to quickly put a sample together. The hard part would be if you're not familiar with programming and have to also learn C# or VB.Net. If you install Visual Studio on your machine I don't mind writing up a quick application that you can use to load the packages.

0 Kudos
AdamRepsher

Freddie,

You are incredibly gracious. I can have Visual Studio installed Monday morning and we can go from there.

I could go through some of the tutorials found there, but which SDK should I use?  Qt? .NET?  This sounds a bit like me starting out with FLEX a number of years ago. I was able to make some changes and compile.  Nothing too complex though. Never created anything from scratch.