Multithreading with ArcGIS Map running on its own thread

Jump to solution
08-26-2020 02:38 PM
DanSepeda
New Contributor II

I'm new to ArcGIS SDK and using C# in general so please bare with me. I'm currently creating a .Net Application in C# that will display a GPS location of a robotic-vehicle in real time while also displaying other data from the vehicle e.g. engine speed, spray pressure, vehicle speed etc. The displaying of the vehicles location within the ArcGIS esri map works great and doesn't freeze that U.I. at all. I created two different threads, each with a socket, exclusively for receiving or sending data. The GPS position of the robotic-vehicle comes in through the receiving socket at ~ 20hz. However, when I send data to be displayed in an odometer that I made or even a simple text box then the U.I. completely freezes until the operation is complete or just shuts down.

I have tried to create the operation of changing the text box/odometer in it's own thread and calling Thread.Sleep() within that function, but it has the same outcome where it doesn't show the incremental changes in the display, but rather the result after the entire operation is completed or shutdown completely.

My MainWindow.xaml.cs looks something like the following:

namespace ArcGISRuntime.WPF.Samples.SketchOnMap 

{

private GraphicsOverlay _sketchOverlay;

public SketchOnMap()
{
InitializeComponent();

// Call a function to set up the map and sketch editor
Initialize();

}

private void Initialize()
{
// Create a light gray canvas map
Map myMap = new Map(Basemap.CreateImageryWithLabelsVector());

// Create central point where map is centered
MapPoint centralPoint = new MapPoint(X, Y, SpatialReferences.Wgs84);

// Create starting viewpoint
Viewpoint startingViewpoint = new Viewpoint(
centralPoint,
3000);
// Set starting viewpoint
myMap.InitialViewpoint = startingViewpoint;

// Create graphics overlay to display sketch geometry
_sketchOverlay = new GraphicsOverlay();