Understanding the full iOS app creation process

Jump to solution
03-20-2014 05:16 AM
JoshV
by
Occasional Contributor
Greetings,

I'm new to iOS development and wanted to layout a scenario to see if I'm fully understanding the deployment process or not. 

If I simply wanted to create an iOS app that would alert users when they were within a mile of any gas station and I had the gas stations as a point feature class. 

1) Do I assume I have to push out a MapService (gas station buffers) from ArcGIS Server or is it possible to deploy the app with static offline gas stations tied to the GPS current location in order to determine if the user has crossed the 1 mile buffers?

2) Can I simply create this type of app by just using a Mac with Mountain Lion, xCode, ArcGIS Runtime SDK for iOS.  Anything else needed?

3) Would I just register for Basic Licensing and use the Client ID within my application or would I have to additionally pay for an ArcGIS Server license in order to push out a mapservice for the gas stations? (similiar to question 1)

I'm just trying to get a full understanding if ArcGIS Server is really needed in this type of app, licensing, building and deploying it, etc.  Many thanks.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
SuganyaBaskaran1
Esri Contributor
There are a few options for the scenario you mention:

For your 1st question about alerting user when they enter or exit an area (geometry), you may check out the GeoTrigger SDK . The guide also explains how to create push notifications to alert users. Geotrigger uses a fraction of ArcGIS Online credit for every trigger. More details on the pricing available in the FAQ here