Can i use callout to put comments on the map?

Jump to solution
05-25-2015 08:14 AM
thizu
by
New Contributor

I'm just new to ArcGIS sdk with Android.I want to input some text on the map after tap a location on the map.After i input that if i tap on another location the text should minimize like on callout?I want to ask whether i can use callout for this purpose or is there any other method which i can use? Please help me. Thank you

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ShellyGill1
Esri Contributor

I think you should be able to use an EditText in a callout to allow a user to add text, although I have not tried it I dont know any reason why that would not work just fine. You would then need to add a Graphic with that information to a GraphicsLayer, so you can show the marker at the location added. There is only one Callout per map so you would need to consider that when you code, and change the callout content when required.  - text could be added as an attribute on the Graphic so that if the user clicks back on the point they added before, you can display that in the callout. However, when thinking about users entering text it would be more typical I think to simply show a text input UX in some other way, like a separate fragment or activity, or in a dialog that shows up over the activity that contains the map (especially on a small phone screen). The callout is typically used to display data, not for entering data.

Also, you might want to think about how the information is saved after the user has entered it. If the data the users enter need to be saved just for themselves, you can persist the information yourself using the typical Android pattern. But if you want to save the information and make it available to other people, you could look instead at getting an AGOL subscription and making an editable feature service, and adding that as a FeatureLayer in your map, with popups.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
ShellyGill1
Esri Contributor