Route Name vs Route ID

09-15-2020 10:09 AM
MasaoMatsuoka
Occasional Contributor

Hello. I am new to Roads and Highways and currently experimenting using ArcGIS Pro 2.6. While creating LRS Network and loading routes, the tools ask for Route ID and Route Name. I think I understand Route ID, but I am not quite sure how Route Names are used in LRS.

In my current experiment, I have created Route ID using the combination of state route name, type, qualifiers, and direction, so all the routes are uniquely identified. However, I am not sure what I should do about Route Name. Could someone explain the differences between the ID and Name?

Thanks

Masao

Masao Matsuoka
0 Kudos
5 Replies
AmitHazra
Esri Contributor

Hello Masao

It sounds like you are using the out of the box Location Referencing tools to create and configure the LRS and network for your Roads and Highways Pro data model. When you use the Create LRS and Create LRS Network GP tools the R&H Pro model is created assuming you are going to be leveraging the “Autogenerated Route ID” network Route ID configuration. That configuration requires a “Route Name” field that is synonymous with a unique ID that is more human-readable than a GUID. This Route Name concept is configured more commonly with our Pipeline Referencing users but since we are actively trying to align the development of the enterprise LRS product users will begin to see additional enhanced functionality blended from the surface transportation and pipeline industries.

If you intend to use these creation/configuration tools to start your data model and you wish to use a Single-Field Route Id or a concatenated Multi-Field Route ID then you’ll want to add the fields you need to your network feature class and then run the Modify LRS Network GP so you can change the “Route ID Field Configuration” parameter to your liking.