Extracting data from a public web layer

02-08-2019 10:04 AM
StefanStefanov
New Contributor II

Hi,

Not sure if it's the right place to ask this question but here it is. There is an open-access GIS that hosts some data I'm interested in:

https://gis.wwf.bg/mobilz/en/

For some reason English and Bulgarian version have different layer structure but anyways.

I'm fairly new to ArcGIS (and GIS in general) and it's probably an overkill for my needs at this point so I'd like to start with something simple - extract data from "Protected areas in Bulgaria" and "Protected zones Natura 2000" sublayers and have each sublayer in a separate file - preferably KMZ or GPX. I'm aware some metadata will be lost but I don't care about it at this point. Not sure how much will be lost when going to KMZ but for GPX polygons will have to be converted to tracks which is fine for me (as long as I can identify the original object name from the track name). Accuracy is of little importance as it's good enough to know where object boundaries roughly lie on the map. Also, I'm trying to automate this extraction in a Linux shell script.

Couple of things I tried:

1) Retrieving (questionably) all objects within a layer via the rest API:

wget -O - "https://gis.trimbul.com/arcgis/rest/services/trees/zashtiteniteritorii/MapServer/find?f=json&searchText=резерват&layers=0" 

However, two issues with this approach:

• searchText is mandatory. While I expect certain words to be present in every layer it's not a foolproof solution.
  • I don't understand the result that I get. First object for example: