Embedding my custom toolbox within my ArcPro Add-In

06-08-2020 04:23 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

It's my first time posting on here so I am sorry if I don't correctly format this question.

I have been building an ArcPro Add-In and I wanted to embed a toolbox so that when I send the add-in to the client I am able to source the path to the toolbox and then open it from a ribbon button. I followed the suggestions in this question but when I install the toolbox to ArcPro it doesn't create the toolbox folders within the AppData directory. When I check inside the add-inX file I can see the custom toolbox within there in the file structure shown in the previously asked question. I am wondering why when installing the Add-in does it not create the toolbox folder within appdata? I must be doing something wrong but I can't figure it out (I am fairly new to c# and add-in creation so that is probably where I am stumbling)

Any help would be appreciated and here are some images of the visual studio menu and the esri addinX file

0 Kudos
7 Replies
JoëlHempenius3
Occasional Contributor II

Hi Jack,

I had the same problem this morning with my Add-In and a custom .pyt toolbox with ArcGIS 2.5 and 2.6.

However, the toolbox was visible in the list of toolboxes in ArcGIS Pro. Which made me wonder where my script was placed.

I therefore added:
arcpy.AddMessage("Script {0} loaded".format(os.path.dirname(os.path.realpath(__file__))))

to my execute function in the toolbox and got the path of my script. 

The structure of my VS project looks like this:

When I go to my App data folder after deploying the Add-In and the Add-In is active in ArcGIS Pro I see this:

The Toolboxes folder is just like your description not visible. (note that Hidden Items should be visible)

However, when I open the path from the Python Message I can go into the directory and I see the toolboxes subdirectory.

So maybe the directory is also there in your case but for unknown reasons not visible?