Can you access geoprocessing history programmatically using the ArcGIS Pro SDK?

12-08-2020 12:08 PM
MikeDavlantes
New Contributor III

I'm writing an ArcGIS Pro add-in and would like to view items in the geoprocessing history. I see in the SDK docs there is a HistoryProjectItem class that offers pretty much exactly what I need. I can access it while debugging in Visual Studio, but as you can see in the docs it's a public sealed class and has a note "public acess Deprecated at 2.1." I'm new to C# but it seems this means I cannot access the HistoryProjectItem class in my add-in code? If that is the case, was this deprecated in favor of another method of accessing the geoprocessing history using the SDK?

I am aware of the option to write the history to a log file, but requiring my users to have that option enabled and then parsing the log file every time that my add-in gets opened is not optimal.

2 Replies
KirkKuykendall1
Occasional Contributor III

History gets saved in the aprx file (which is a zip file).  The xml can be deserialized into a CIMGISProject.  I see no mention of deprecation for accessing the history items in the project.

public static void ListHistory()
{
    // this can be run in a console app (or within a Pro add-in)
    CIMGISProject project = GetProject(@"D:\tests\topologies\topotest1.aprx");
    foreach(CIMProjectItem hist in project.ProjectItems
                .Where(itm => itm.ItemType == "GPHistory"))
    {
        Debug.Print($"+++++++++++++++++++++++++++");
        Debug.Print($"{hist.Name}");
        XmlDocument doc = new XmlDocument();
        doc.LoadXml(hist.PropertiesXML);
        //it sure would be nice if Pro SDK had things like MdProcess class in ArcObjects
        //https://desktop.arcgis.com/en/arcobjects/latest/net/webframe.htm#MdProcess.htm
        var json = JsonConvert.SerializeXmlNode(doc, Newtonsoft.Json.Formatting.Indented);
        Debug.Print(json);
    }
}
static CIMGISProject GetProject(string aprxPath)
{