Your opinion about ArcGIS Pro?

08-24-2021 10:56 AM
KarelSoel
New Contributor

I had the pleasure to work with ArcGIS Pro the last few weeks. I am not a very experienced GIS user. I am a kind of student you can say, with 3 years work experience with GIS (ArcMap, QGIS). I was looking forward to work with ArcGIS Pro, because I hoped that the major problem of ArcMap would be solved. But after the first week I was fairly underwhelmed. I appreciate the new look and in my opinion it is more enjoyable to navigate through ArcGIS Pro. Nevertheless, the amount of mapping possibilities are rare in comparison to ArcMap. Even basics ArcMap offers are not available in ArcGIS Pro. Sometimes I had to work simultaneously with both, just to run tools in ArcMAp, that werent implemente in ArcGIS Pro.

What is yopur opinion about ArcGIS Pro? where do you see it in the future

0 Kudos
5 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

ArcPro is the future; ESRI has already said that ArcMap will no longer be supported in a few years.  I use ArcPro and ArcMap daily, ArcPro is much faster when panning and zooming in or out; ArcMap is faster at processing.  I have yet to find any tools that are not in ArcPro.  Which ones did you find that are not available in Pro?

jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If you're on 2.8, check out the Command Search tool that has been added. There are a few cases where a toolbox has been renamed or a menu / button is in a different place, but with very few exceptions, you should be able to find all the same tools in Pro.

Lots of folks are still on ArcMap because they have built large workflows which depend on it, or else they've been using it for years and years, and the productivity hit of learning a new tool doesn't seem particularly worth it. If you're starting from scratch, though, and you don't have a really strong reason to be in ArcMap, you probably shouldn't.