Unable to Share as web layer or Overwrite web layer in Pro

Jump to solution
02-09-2022 05:06 AM
KatiePhillips1870
New Contributor III

Hello, 

Last week we noticed we are unable to "share as web layer" or "overwrite" hosted feature layers that we own. Meaning, I pulled in a dataset from ArcGIS Online (AGOL) that I created (I own), updated the symbology, and wanted to overwrite it so that the symbology changes appear in AGOL. The "overwrite web layer" function is grayed out. I read you need to make sure:

• you are signed into your portal (I am)
  • make sure it is a hosted feature layer (it is)
  • you have privileges to update the layer (I'm an Administrator and classified as GIS Professional Advanced)

The really strange part is, we used to be able to overwrite hosted web layers with ease (this is part of our workflow) and all of a sudden we are not able to overwrite any of the data we have hosted in AGOL. We are currently working on Pro 2.8. 

Has anyone else came across this issue recently and knows how to fix it? We are at a loss on finding a solution right now as it seems we have everything set up properly. 

Below is an image of what I am seeing

KatiePhillips1870_0-1644411914043.jpeg

Thank you for any information you can give me. 

Katie

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DruSexton1
New Contributor II

Hi Katie,

I too had a similar experience using both an institutional license and a commercial license. At first I thought it was a bug, and then I realized it was a workflow issue.

You cannot pull a layer into a local Pro session and then overwrite the layer. You can make changes to the data by adding/removing features, but you cannot make changes to the symbology or database.

You can only do that by making a local copy. But be extremely careful because if your copy does not have matching field names/types then you will corrupt, replace, and/or lose data and functionality in any web maps/apps supported by that layer.