Select to view content in your preferred language

Tips for ArcGIS Pro?

02-08-2023 11:58 PM
Labels (1)
jecobdruv
New Contributor

Hi! I’m working with ArcGIS Pro for the very first time. I’m well-acquainted with ArcMap as I’ve been using it for two years, but I know nothing about ArcGIS Pro. Does anyone have tips for using ArcGIS Pro or know of any good Youtube channels/forums I can reference if I get stuck? I’m a bit overwhelmed by the huge aesthetic difference between these softwares.

Thanks!

9 Replies
ScottFedak2085
Regular Contributor

I don't know of specific channels or videos in youtube, but I'm sure there is something out there for you when you get stuck. ESRI has lots of videos from UCs on youtube that are always a good resource when your exploring a new topic. To get some good tailored material, I would recommend ESRI training courses https://www.esri.com/training/catalog/search/. There are a few introduction to Pro courses available.

One thing that gets some getting used to is the ribbon based nature of the application. Unlike ArcMap where you can pin different toolbars that you utilize often, applicable tools in Pro often don't show-up until you are working with an object (layer, FC, locator, Network Dataset, etc.) where those tools can be utilized.

0 Kudos
Bud
by
Esteemed Contributor

I found symbology in ArcGIS Pro to be unintuitive.  If you do too, you might find this post helpful: Navigate from Primary Symbology window to Gallery/Properties window.

0 Kudos
DaraBurlo
Esri Community Manager

@jecobdruv @Bud I have moved this into the ArcGIS Pro Questions Board. 

AngelaSchirck
Frequent Contributor

I switched to arcPro a couple years ago and found good ol' GOOGLE helpful when I wanted to know how to do something.  Also post your questions in here, there are many helpful people here! The thing I've learned is that anything arcmap can do, arcpro can do better!  There's always a way.  Good luck!

SLouq
by MVP Regular Contributor