Select to view content in your preferred language

Space-Time Cube Mapping for Weather Station Data

06-18-2020 06:51 PM
GeorgeHademenos
New Contributor

I am a high school physics teacher in Texas who would like to display weather station data in a Space-Time Cube map. I have spent hours going over Help pages and going through posts in GeoNet but have not had success. I would like to reach out for guidance on how to proceed. The data that I have is in Microsoft Excel, presented in three columns: Julian Day (numbered days of the year), temperature & pressure, and the year. I envision that Julian Day will be graphed along the x-axis, the variables temperature & pressure graphed along the y-axis and the z-axis is the year. I would like to create two space-time cube maps – one illustrating the temperature data and the other illustrating the pressure data. I have downloaded and successfully installed the Space-Time Cube add-in to ArcGIS 2.5. When I added data, I got no response with no indication of the problem. I thought that ArcGIS would take the data and make necessary transformations. As I read through the Help pages, I found out that the data must be in netCDF format. I tried to convert the Excel file to the netCDF format using MyGeoData Cloud site but kept getting error messages because the x and y columns were not GPS coordinates. The questions I have are:  (1) Is it possible to display this type of data in a Space-Time Cube map? (2) How should I format my Excel data to make it readable and usable for a Space-Time Cube map? (3) Does each column variable in the Excel file need to be labeled or does labeling occur after the Space-Time Cube map is created? (4) Can the data be displayed in separate worksheets or does all of the data need to be in a single worksheet?  I would greatly appreciate your time and assistance with this request.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor