Render/Performance issue

03-01-2021 06:04 AM
MatthewMinick
New Contributor II

Hi All,

I am new to ArcGIS Pro (I have been using ArcGIS desktop for quite long time now).

I am trying to compose the maps using ArcGIS Pro (Create Layout). But somehow the layer rendering/labeling seems to be slow compared to ArcGIS desktop (When I use the same data).

Can anyone please tell me what could be the reason? Is there any rendering/display settings to be tweaked?

Tags (1)
13 Replies
KoryKramer
Esri Community Moderator

Hi @MatthewMinick First run through Troubleshooting Performance Issues in ArcGIS Pro to ensure that the machine and graphics card meet the ArcGIS Pro requirements which are different than ArcMap.  You will also find display and rendering settings in that document that you can work with.  

Work through those steps first and follow up to let us know if you're still seeing performance differences.  

Are you using the Standard labeling engine in both ArcMap and Pro?  Or Maplex in both ArcMap and Pro? (I ask because Maplex is an option in ArcMap, but is the default in Pro).

MatthewMinick
New Contributor II

Thanks for your reply,

I ran the tool. I have attached the results. Please check.

I am guessing it may be because there is no dedicated video card in my system.

I am using Maplex label engine.

0 Kudos
KoryKramer
Esri Community Moderator

Yeah - having a dedicated card might help.  Did you work with any of the display options: 

KoryKramer_0-1614623023143.png

or anything from the labeling section

KoryKramer_1-1614623060924.png

Did any of those help?

0 Kudos
Scott_Jeffrey
New Contributor II
Matthew,

I have a couple of questions before I give an answer. Are you drawing in images from a server? Are the images on your machine? What kind of images are you processing? Are you processing images for analysis or are you just displaying the imagery is a layer?