Performing viewshed analysys like in Google Earth

Jump to solution
12-22-2020 05:20 AM
JaimeGonzalez1
New Contributor II

Hi all

I am new to ArcGIS Pro. I was wondering if I can perform a viewshed analysys like one can do in Google Earth, i.e. by selecting a point on the basemap manually and clicking on some sort of 'perform viewshed' button.

From what I've seen so far on the app, in order to perform a viewshed I have to input databases and do all sorts of little things I don't yet understand, but I imagine there must be a simpler way.

Thanks for your time

Jaime

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor
7 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

I think you can do this in a Scene - Exploratory analysis tools—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

JaimeGonzalez1
New Contributor II

Hi David

That seems to be what I'm looking for, but when I click on the 'Exploratory 3D Analysis' button in the 'Analysis' pane, I only get the 'Object Detection' option, but not the 'line of sight' or 'view dome' options.

Do you know how to fix this?

Thanks for your time

0 Kudos
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

have you got an elevation source added in your Scene or 2D map? 

0 Kudos
JaimeGonzalez1
New Contributor II

I do not. Do you know how I can do that? My ultimate goal is to perform a viewshed analysis of a large area in Asturias, Spain. I would use Google Earth but it only allows for one observer.

0 Kudos
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

I think you can add an elevation surface in Pro from ArcGISOnline, have you searched for any elevation data?

Elevation Surfaces in ArcGIS Pro 2.2 (esri.com)

Or I believe if you create a new scene, it's automagically added.

You could also download some data such as SRTM but I don't think it's necessary.

0 Kudos
JaimeGonzalez1
New Contributor II

Hi David