Issues with publishing and overwriting web layers using modelbuilder

Jump to solution
08-26-2021 08:23 AM
JD1016
by
Occasional Contributor III

Hello Everyone,

I'm currently using ArcGIS Pro 2.8.2.  I happened upon a script that was graciously shared by Jonah Lay to publish and overwrite web layers in Modelbuilder (see JonahLayCode.txt).  I followed the directions for adding the script, creating the script tool, and adding to an existing model.  The directional post from Jonah can be found here: https://www.esri.com/arcgis-blog/products/arcgis-pro/mapping/publish-and-overwrite-web-layers-in-mod...

I've attached a screenshot that illustrates my model with the Publish Web Feature Layer section added (see AutoPublishOutagesScreenshot.png).

In running the model as it is illustrated in the above screenshot, I received the following error messages (see AutoPublishOutagesFailureScreenshot.png).

I am not a programmer.  That we just establish. To that end, can someone please offer some kernels of wisdom on how I may succeed in using this script successfully given the errors I have encountered?  I'm sure it is something that I have not done properly given the indicated messages.

Thank you one and all in advance.

JD

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JonahLay
Esri Contributor

Hi Jeff,

I believe you are seeing this behavior because your script tool hasn't been modified to include the portalFolder property. The Next Steps section in the blog covers how to do this.

Hope it helps,

Jonah

View solution in original post

16 Replies
JonahLay
Esri Contributor

Hi,

Thanks for the screenshots. Just a quick question first... Are you attempting to publish a web feature layer to ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise?

Thanks,

Jonah

0 Kudos
JD1016
by

Hi Jonah,

Thank you so much for replying.

I am attempting to update a hosted feature layer on ArcGIS Online.

Jeff

0 Kudos
JonahLay
Esri Contributor

Hi Jeff,