IF Else Statements in Arcade Expression

Jump to solution
08-28-2018 01:21 AM
VyNguyen3
New Contributor II

I try to create a Constraint Rule to limit the values for 2 fields which are applied 2 domains as Diameter (Double) and Material (Text). Here is my valid code and I've successfully added it. However, it always returns error when I edit feature attributes and I can't seem to understand why. 

var diameter = $feature.DIAMETER;
if (diameter == [24,30,36,48])
{$feature.MATERIAL == [CI, SP]}
else if (diameter == [18,20])
{$feature.MATERIAL == DI}

I try with other valid code as follow but it doesn't work out anyway.

if (diameter == 24 || diameter == 30 || diameter == 36)
{$feature.MATERIAL == CI || $feature.MATERIAL == SP}
else if (diameter == 18 || diameter == 20)
{$feature.MATERIAL == DI}

Please help me correct if I was missing st and just so you know I'm not a developer so I'm really bad at this.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Thanks for pointing out that you already posted the domains of the fields. You are also right about the topology. There is another type of attribute rule (validation rule) that will participate in topology, but I think it hasn't been implemented yet.

Looking at the domains, there is an error in the expression regarding reading the description.  See the code below:

function IsValidMaterial(material, valid_materials) {
    var valid = False;
    for (var i = 0; i < Count(valid_materials); i++) { 
         if (material == valid_materials[i]) {
              valid = True;
          }
     }
     return valid;
}

var diameter = DomainName($feature, 'DIAMETER');
var material = $feature.MATERIAL;
var validation = False;
if ((diameter == '24"') || (diameter == '30"') || (diameter == '36"') || (diameter == '48"')) {
    var allowed_materials = ["CI", "SP"];
    return IsValidMaterial(material, allowed_materials); 
} else if  ((diameter == '18"') || (diameter == '20"')) {