How to keep label font sizes consistent between Layout View and Data View?

12-28-2018 04:52 PM
MattKlinger
New Contributor

I am new to ArcGIS and am doing an online course. For a part in one of my assignments, I need to make a map and label counties with their respective names. I find that if I set an appropriate font size in my labels to make them legible in data view, they are much smaller when I look at my map in layout view. I can up the font size in layout view, however I want to have a consistent font size between data and layout view. Otherwise, the font becomes huge in data view.

Also, my layout view extent is based on the extent in the data view so I don't understand why there is a difference in sizes.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
AdrianWelsh
MVP Honored Contributor

Matt,

If you're concerned about label sizes, I would stick with worrying about them only in layout view since this is what will matter when the map is printed (or exported). 

The extents may be the same but you have to also consider the the 'viewer' sees, like if your layout view is at 100% or not (I hope that makes sense - I would include a screenshot but do not have Pro in front of me right now).

0 Kudos
MattKlinger
New Contributor

Thanks for your reply Adrian.

I ended up sticking with the layout view label sizes. Interestingly, I found a similar post here  Symbol size in data v layout view that explains the same issue. I was just concerned about someone having to go poking around in data view and being met with different label sizes.

It strictly appears to just be some ArcGIS quirk. Labels in data view at font size of 16 are equivalent to labels in layout view that are up around size 40. The viewer can zoom in on the labels in layout view or data view and the labels won't resize themselves or anything, so I think it just has to do with label sizes appearing different in data view vs layout view for whatever reason.

https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=bc1a2fa0f277450e8ad5c9b7e5a75844