How to join a field to a polygon layer when there are multiple records associated with each polygon

09-30-2021 03:14 PM
Labels (1)
NinaOberg
New Contributor II

Hello, I am a student working on an analysis project and was hoping someone might be able to help me. I have a polygon layer that I have created with a fairly empty attribute table, and am currently adding information to the table such as whether the polygon intersects with urban areas, food deserts, etc. I am also trying to add information about the land use within each polygon, but am running into a little bit of trouble. I have intersected my polygon layer with a land use layer, but because there are multiple land uses within some of the polygons, this is where I am struggling. Normally, I would simply use the "Join Field" tool to add the land use information to my polygon layer, but because there are multiple land uses associated with each polygon and therefore multiple records associated with each of the original polygons, I am unable to do this the way that I want. What I want is for the land use type that has the greatest area within the polygon to be the land use description associated with that polygon. I first attempted to use "Dissolve" to accomplish this, but because the land use information isn't numerical, there didn't appear to be a way for me to have the land use with the largest area per polygon chosen to be carried over after the tool was finished running.